The First Sale!

Yay!  It worked!  Someone actually bought a book from the Third Wife Rez School Store and I got to make a donation to the Quileute Tribal School!  I’m so excited!

What did they buy?  An utterly fascinating book entitled Vampires, Werewolves, and Zombies, which explores the history of said mythological creatures, both fictional and real (yes, real!).  My favorite is the Werebear … I wonder how Emmett would fare in a fight with a Werebear?

Like I said in a previous post, when I imagined donating the profits, I only thought about the difference between the price I paid for the book and what someone else paid for it, but after I started putting numbers down on paper, I began to realize that I was spending a little more than the price of the book.  So I resolved to share the process for each item in my blog; that’s part of the reason I started it in the first place.

So here’s the breakdown: 

Item

Cost

Book ($9 listed price; I bought it at work, where I get a 50% discount) $4.50
Sales Tax (I don’t get out of paying that) $0.35
PayPal Fee $0.88
Postage I Paid (I got a small discount for paying online) $4.75

Total Out-of-Pocket for me

$10.48

Price I Charged for the Book $15.00
Postage Customer Paid (the store automatically calculated the rate based on USPS Flat Rate fees) $4.90

Total Customer Paid

$19.90

Donation (Customer Total My Out-of-Pocket)

$9.42

HTML Tables

How’s that for wonderful!  I’m excited … I mean, $9.42 may not sound like much, but I think it’s a great first-time donation.  I already made the donation.  You can see it at http://www.firstgiving.com/takebackthetwilight

I didn’t really know how I was going to acknowledge that the donations I make from the Third Wife Rez School came from that and not just randomly from me, but I think I like how I did it.  I’ll do it that way from now on.  In case you don’t want to visit the site to see, I entered Profits from “Vampires, Werewolves, & Zombies” book sold at rezschool.ecrater.com! in the comments section. It’s a plug for the store, and lets people know how the money was raised at the same time.  Pretty good for on-the-fly comment entering, if I do say so myself.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://rezschool.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/the-first-sale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Another $9.42! In other news, I sold another copy of Vampires, Werewolves, and Zombies!  Wooo-hooo!  As soon as the payment hits my account, that’ll be another $9.42 for the Quileute School!  I won’t include the cost & profit breakdown here as it’s the same as before.  You can read about it in the earlier post: https://rezschool.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/the-first-sale/ […]

  2. […] $30!  Not bad, I think, not bad.  To see the breakdown, read the blog about the first sale at https://rezschool.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/the-first-sale/. Published […]

  3. its an awesome book but should be less exensive


Leave a Reply

